Posted in Works

DRAKA Information

My first Wattpad work is a novel I’ve been working on for a few years, working title Draka. It’s gone through a couple of complete overhauls; it started off when I was young and naive and thought I knew all the answers. Back then, it was going to be the story of two royal men–one a king already, the other a prince–who fell in love but were kept apart by prejudice and politics. The titular dragon, Draka, would have helped them find a way to be together.

In the time since the original idea came to me, the story has changed dramatically.

DrakaCover
Temporary Cover

Now it is the story of Adrian, a scholar and brother of a semi-religious order called the Order of the Scroll. The Order worships Knowledge and Wisdom both as archetypal symbols, and as deities in the forms of Twins Blind Laga and Silent Safia. Adrian met the love of his life, Crown Prince Dathan of Drakonis while working as tutor for Dathan’s younger siblings. He had everything; love of life, the love of Dathan, a calling to learn and teach, and a wonderful soon-to-be family-in-law.

When the last of the old Dragon Gods emerges and, in exchange for blessings and prosperity, asks for a companion for three years, Adrian cannot resist.

Three hundred years later, Adrian returns to find the world he knew dead and buried. Drakonis is a wasteland, home only to flesh-eeating creatures made of shadows. Dathan is long dead, and even the Order of the Scroll is gone. His search for Knowledge left him bereft of everything.

All he wants to do now is build some form of a life and live quietly, unobtrusively.

But someone knows who he is–who is really is–and wants him.

Draka is about love, loyalty, time, culture, and the need for fulfillment, in whatever form it takes.

I hope putting it on Wattpad will help me finish this novel; it’s been sitting in my unfinished files far too long.

Draka on Wattpad.

–S. Lynn

Author:

I'm Pagan, a gamer, a reader, a writer, a dreamer, and a scientist. As a Pagan, I am building my personal practice, and hopefully finding and walking the path that will lead to a more fulfilling life. I credit my gods with putting me on the way to changing my life, though as with all things, only I actually have the power to change it. I am a scientist because as of August 2014, I am a student once again, in psychology. I'll be graduating in May of 2016, with plans to continue with a Masters in Industrial/Organizational Psychology. As a reader, I mostly read fantasy, though the occasional mystery, science fiction, or horror novel slips in there. I'm into books that have themes, and make you think. As a writer, I can say the same. As a gamer, I'm into games with story, plot, and action. I still like themes, and I like to think, and I love to put together the threads of a story. I also love Disney. A lot. I'll try not to talk about it too much. Sometimes, I do the art thing.

Leave a Reply

